On June 5, the Connecticut legislature approved a bill to expand disclosure requirements for home care agencies, such as when a HCA changes service rates or ceases operations. H.B. 6767 concerning licensing and enforcement proposed by the Department of Consumer Protection also requires background checks of certain prospective agency owners.
The HCAOA Connecticut Chapter testified that the original bill was onerous and impractical for HCAs and clients. In March, Chapter leaders met separately with lawmakers and DCP officials about the bill and proposed several changes. The Department agreed to several amendments proposed by HCAOA that were included in sections 18 and 19 of the final bill, Public Act 23-99. The Governor is expected to sign the bill shortly.
Beginning Oct. 1, 2023, PA 23-99 requires agencies to give at least 60 days’ written notice to a client before changing rates (unless there is also a change in the level or type of services). If the disclosure is not made, the charge is unenforceable.
The bill also requires agencies to:
Additionally, with exceptions, at least 10 days before an HCA unilaterally stops providing services to a client, the bill requires the agency to notify the client in writing, explaining how she (1) may transition to alternative care and (2) will be reimbursed for any prepaid services. The notice must also have contact information for the client to get more information from the agency. The bill allows certain exceptions to this requirement.
Additionally, the bill requires, before any sale or change in ownership of an agency, each proposed new owner to submit to state and national criminal history records checks.